Enchanted Highway

After TR National Park in N Dakota, I headed to S Dakota to see Mt Rushmore and other things in the neighborhood. As I tooled down some state (or US?) highway I saw a sign for “Enchanted Highway” to the left. So I went. Ended up in Regent, ND which is the Enchanted Highway's southern terminus. 
There is a EH gift shop, local art, things to ponder, and normal stuff of small towns in the US.
This spoke to me bc I *HATE* tailgaters. I bonded with the town on this one.

Then just a short way north of town, the “Enchanted” part of the highway began, consisting of a series of metal sculptures/installations, spaced a few miles apart. I wish I’d known about this when I set off from Dickinson, since the EH extends up to there. I didn’t want to backtrack completely, so I had to be content with a few at the southern end. 

Yet another example of unexpected ingenuity and delightful surprise. 

The Tin Family (NOT Bart Simpson — see little guy on the right?)— on the Range.

Not sure of the title, but TR’s on a frisky horse, and a stage coach sculpture is in front.

Pheasants on the Prairie.

And.. from the back. Lots of possible poses, not all of which I’m sharing here. The other dozen or so upon request.

As a visual aid, I’m pointing to the one I’m taking a picture of.

Not sculptures, but I thought worth calling out.

A mushroom.

These are bales of hay as far as I know. But they *could* be a sculpture.

These are very shiny but not art. They’re used to store things, grain I think.

If you want to see more about these sculptures, pictures of ones I didn’t get to, and interesting facts, e.g., "Geese in Flight is visible from I-94, standing 110 feet tall and 150 feet wide. In 2002, it was recognized as the world's largest scrap metal sculpture by the Guinness Book of World Records,” go here.

Finally, a field of shy sunflowers, lovely even in hiding.

Comments

I also hate tailgaters (wow we have so much in common). Hope you’re having a nice time!
hahahaha. I know. do you also like delightful and unexpected surprises, like.. giant pheasants on the prairie? Or not that much.
Thanks for continuing to share the delights you're encountering on your journey - you've got a great eye for this!
Love to share!! On Sep 23, 2021, at 9:09 AM, Posthaven Comments wrote: 
How was that Black Butte Rest Area?
Innovative.
I bet!

Add a comment